Forest Peoples Programme Supporting forest peoples’ rights

Staff and Board

FPP employs a multi-disciplinary team with expertise in land rights, environment and development, and indigenous affairs with high-level qualifications in social anthropology, human rights law, tropical forest ecology and environmental science. The team has longstanding and extensive experience working directly with indigenous peoples and forests in all corners of the globe.


Joji CariñoDirector
Louise HensonManaging Director
Oda Forberg AlmasProject Officer
Patrick AndersonPolicy Advisor, Indonesia
Raissa BashongaAdmin and Finance, DRC
Viola BelohradProject Assistant, Community-based monitoring
Balla CamaraFinance and Monitoring Officer
Marcus ColchesterSenior Policy Advisor
Fiona CottrellFinance and Africa Projects Manager
Valérie CouillardSenior Lawyer, LHRP
Emery Djonga LombotoFinance Officer, DRC
Valentina FaveroProject Officer, Africa Programme
Conrad FeatherProject Officer, RFP and EGP
Maurizio Farhan FerrariCoordinator, Environmental Governance Programme (EGP)
Tom GriffithsCoordinator, Responsible Finance Programme (RFP)
James HarveyCommunications Manager
Vanessa JiménezSenior Attorney, LHRP
Rick JonesAdministrative Assistant
Caroline de JongProject Officer, EGP
Justin KenrickPolicy Advisor, Africa
Chris KiddProject Officer, LHRP
Patrick KipaluProject Coordinator, DRC
Emil KledenField Officer, Indonesia
Lassana KoneLawyer
Tom LomaxCoordinator, Legal and Human Rights Programme (LHRP)
Dico LuckyhartoProject Officer, Indonesia
Francesco MartonePolicy Advisor, RFP
Fergus MacKaySenior Counsel, LHRP
Frances MacleanFinance Assistant
Nadia MbanzidiLegal Assistant, DRC
Alancay Morales GarroProject Officer, LHRP
John NelsonAfrica Regional Coordinator
Stephen NounahLawyer, Cameroon
Julia OvertonLogistics and Administrative Officer
Anouska PerramLawyer
Chris PhillipsMapping and GIS Coordinator
Sue RichardsAdministrative Assistant
Sarah RobertsInstitutional Finance Manager
Tom RowleyCommunity Mapping & Information Systems Designer
Lisken SitumorangProject Officer, Indonesia
Ailsa SpindlerProject Manager
Helen TugendhatPolicy Advisor, LHRP and RFP
Messe VenantCameroon Programme Coordinator
Halkano WaqoFinance Officer
Viviane WeitznerPolicy Advisor
Clare WhitmoreDatabase and Technical Assistant
Jake WillisProject Manager, Africa


Board of trustees

The Forest Peoples Programme (FPP) is both registered as a UK Charity and a Dutch Stichting. The members of the Board of Trustees perform their duties without remuneration. FPP meets the Wijffels Code and the remuneration of the director follows the guidelines of the VFI. (Wijfels Code is a Dutch agreement to not pay salaries higher than that of the Dutch Prime Minister; VFI is a federation of fund raising organisations.

Paul Wolvekamp (Co-Chair)Deputy Director, Both ENDS, NetherlandsCommunity development and livelihoods
Saskia Ozinga (Co-Chair)Director, FERN The EU Forest CampaignAid, trade and environment
Chad DobsonExecutive Director, Bank Information CenterDevelopment policy and civil society
Séamus P Finn(Treasurer)OMI Director, Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate; Justice, Peace & Integrity of CreationEthics and international finance
Silas SiakorFormer Director of Sustainable Development Institute, LiberiaCommunity rights to land and resources, alternative and sustainable development in Liberia
Kate GearyLand Rights Policy Lead, Oxfam GBCommunity rights to land and resources, private sector, development
Carol YongIndependent researcher-consultantIndigenous peoples, dams, forced displacement, gender and development