Staff and Board

FPP employs a multi-disciplinary team with expertise in land rights, environment and development, and indigenous affairs with high-level qualifications in social anthropology, human rights law, tropical forest ecology and environmental science. The team has longstanding and extensive experience working directly with indigenous peoples and forests in all corners of the globe. FPP structures its work via three programmes: Responsible Finance Programme (RFP), Environmental Governance Programme (EGP), and Legal and Human Rights Programme (LHRP).

Dr Marcus Colchester founded FPP in 1990, and was a dynamic Director, creating and growing an organisation with a reputation for being community grounded, rigorous in its analysis, and nationally and internationally effective. In 2013 he stepped down from that role to focus on community level work, and on specific interventions and innovations at the national and international levels, especially in relation to Indonesia and the impact of palm oil concessions on communities.

During 2015 FPP underwent an organisational review prompted by a period of growth during which we recognised the need to affirm our strategies and update our operational systems in order to maximise our effectiveness, whilst maintaining our uniquely potent and grounded contributions to the struggles of indigenous and forest peoples.

As a result of the review a small Coordination and Management Team (CMT) has been formed, answerable to FPP's Board of Trustees and taking the place of the Director. The CMT is responsible for the operational health of the organisation and includes Louise Henson (Managing Director), Tom Lomax (Strategy Lead), Fiona Cottrell (Finance Lead) and Helen Tugendhat (Projects and Operations Lead). 

Coordination and Management Team (CMT)

Fiona Cottrell: Finance Lead

Louise Henson: Managing Director

Tom Lomax: Lawyer, Strategy Lead, Legal and Human Rights Programme Coordinator

Helen Tugendhat: Projects and Operations Lead, Policy Advisor



Oda Forberg Almas: Project Officer

Patrick Anderson: Policy Advisor, Indonesia

Raissa Bashonga: Admin and Finance, DRC

Viola Belohrad: Project Officer

Gordon Bennett: Senior Counsel

Joji Cariño: Senior Policy Advisor

Catherine Clarke: Project Officer, Cameroon

Marcus Colchester: Senior Policy Advisor

Sue Donaldson: Finance Officer

Conrad Feather: Policy Advisor

Maurizio Farhan Ferrari: Senior Policy Advisor

Tom Griffiths: Coordinator, Responsible Finance Programme (RFP)

Vanessa Jiménez: Senior Attorney

Rick Jones: Logistics, Administration and Security Officer

Caroline de Jong: Co-coordinator, Environmental Governance Programme (EGP) 

Justin Kenrick: Senior Policy Advisor

Chris Kidd: Co-coordinator, Environmental Governance Programme (EGP) 

Patrick Kipalu: Project Coordinator, DRC

Emil Kleden: Field Officer, Indonesia

Poppy Kohner: Project Officer

Lassana Kone: Lawyer

Dico Luckyharto: Project Officer, Indonesia

Angus MacInnes: Project Officer, Indonesia

Fergus MacKay: Senior Counsel

Frances Maclean: Finance Officer

Nadia Mbanzidi: Legal Assistant, DRC

Clare McVeigh: Policy Advisor

Lan Mei: Legal Fellow

Kate Newman: Administration Assistant

Stephen Nounah: Lawyer, Cameroon

Julia Overton: Logistics and Administrative Manager

Alain Parfait: Project Officer, DRC

Anouska Perram: Lawyer

Agata Pilarz: Projects Manager, Central Africa

Brian Rault: Project Finance Officer

Sarah Roberts: Institutional Finance Manager

Tom Rowley: Community Mapping & Information Systems Designer

Lisken Situmorang: Project Officer, Indonesia

Nadia Stone: Communications Coordinator

Hannah Storey: Project Assistant

Messe Venant: Policy Advisor

Jak Wagnon: Communications Officer

Viviane Weitzner: Policy Advisor

Andrew Whitmore: Project Officer

Clare Whitmore: Database and Technical Officer

Peter Willis: Finance Manager

Geoff Woodward: Finance Manager

Board of trustees

The Forest Peoples Programme (FPP) is both registered as a UK Charity and a Dutch Stichting. The members of the Board of Trustees perform their duties without remuneration. FPP meets the Wijffels Code and remuneration follows the guidelines of the VFI. (Wijfels Code is a Dutch agreement to not pay salaries higher than that of the Dutch Prime Minister; VFI is a federation of fund raising organisations.

Paul Wolvekamp (Chair), Deputy Director, Both ENDS, Netherlands. Expertise: Community development and livelihoods

Johan Frijns, Director, BankTrack, Netherlands; Expertise: International capital flows, safeguards, organisation and personnel management

Séamus P Finn (Treasurer), OMI Director, Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate; Justice, Peace & Integrity of Creation. Expertise: Ethics and international finance

Kate Geary, Forest Campaign Manager, Bank Information Centre Europe. Expertise: Community rights to land and resources, private sector, development

Sarah Morrison, Director, Renaisi Ltd; Trustee, Death Penalty Project. Expertise: Charity Accounts and Interim Finance

Michel Pimbert, Professor of Agroecology and Food Politics and Director, Centre for Agroecology, Water and Resilience (CAWR), Coventry University

Silas Siakor, Former Director of Sustainable Development Institute, Liberia. Expertise: Community rights to land and resources, alternative and sustainable development in Liberia

Dr. Martua Sirait, Policy Director, Samdhana Institute. Expertise: Land tenure, community rights, forest policy and legality

Barney Tallack, Former Strategy and Change Director, Oxfam. Expertise: Strategy and Strategic Change

Carol Yong, Independent researcher-consultant. Expertise: Indigenous peoples, dams, forced displacement, gender and development